Return to Masonry Heater Assoc. Home Page

  Gallery   The Mall   Member Directory   MHA News       Library   Links    

2011 MHA Annual Meeting

Wildacres, North Carolina --- April 18 - 24, 2011

The Masonry Heater Association - Wildacres 2011

The Masonry Heater Association - Wildacres 2011
Annual Business Meeting with the outgoing Board of Directors.
Elections were held and Steve Bushway (right) is the new President

The Masonry Heater Association - Wildacres 2011
The new Board of Directors
From left:
Eric Moshier
Dave Misiuk (Treasurer)
Brian Klipfel (Secretary)
Dan Givens (Vice President)
Steve Bushway (President),
Ed Small

Executive Director Dick Smith congratulates Doug Hargrave, who was voted the recipient
of the 2011 Jerry Frisch Award, for outstanding contributions to MHA.

Jerry Frisch presented the first module of the new MHA Masonry Heaters 101 course, intended to orient newcomers.

Other Seminars were:

with Norbert Senf

Sketchup, with Carsten Homstead and Dave Misiuk
Refractories, with John Koprevich from Snow Shoe Refractories
Black Oven / White Oven Discussion
Ask the Experts Session

The food at Wildacres was great as ever, 3 squares per day.

Pizza Oven Workshop with Pat Manley

Five Run Heater workshop with Norbert Senf and Brian Klipfel

Corner Heater workshop with David Moore

Cookstove Workshop with Jerry Frisch

Tulikivi Kouta C Workshop with Doug Hren

Stone Facing Workshop with Steve Bushway and Steve Cohan

Arch Workshop with Chris Prior and Walt Kelly

Bricklaying 101 Workshop with Tom Trout

Impromptu Rocket Stove with Max Edleson

Five Minute Oven by Marty Pearson

6th Annual Auction. Over $15,000.00 was raised this year.
A special thank you to Marty Pearson, auctioneer extraordinaire.

Once Pat Manley's oven was finished, it was immediately fired up for the traditional Friday Fiesta de Pizza, marking the end
of the formal worshops. Everybody kicked back, and tried some fantastic pizzas. Special thanks to the musicians, Tom Trout for the dough
and toppings, Frank Giammaria for some xtra special toppings, and Chuck Larson for the California wines.

Saturday was teardown and cleanup. It went extra smoothly this year.

group photo
Group Photo

group photo
New President Steve Bushway on the right. Past Presidents (left to right): Glenn Overk, Jerry Frisch, Pat Manley, Norbert Senf


See also,

2010 Photo Report

2009 Photo Report

2008 Photo Report

2007 Photo Report
2006 Photo Report
2004 Photo Report
2003 Photo Report
2002 Photo Report
2001 Photo Report
2000 Photo Report
1999 Photo Report
1998 Photo Report
1997 Photo Report

This page was last updated on May 6, 2011
This page was created on April 24, 2011

Back to:
Return to Masonry Heater Assoc. Home Page